Welcome to TNW Fundamentals, a group of ideas, guides, and recommendation on easy methods to simply get probably the most out of your devices, apps, and different stuff.

As a lot as Instagram Tales encourages us to overshare just about each element of our lives, you may need to take into account taking extra management of who can really see your life in snippets. A number of months in the past, Instagram launched a brand new function that highlights Stories by location or hashtag — which means individuals who don’t comply with you may encounter your story updates. 

In case you’ve enabled Instagram to know your location, on the prime of the Discover web page, you may discover story updates equivalent to “New York” that embrace a number of public Tales from accounts you don’t comply with. Equally to location, well-liked hashtags like “#espresso” or “#purchasing” will seem in Discover tab.

Whereas this function is sweet for probably discovering new areas in a metropolis or fascinating profiles to comply with, it additionally provides your profile extra publicity, whether or not you need it or not. So, in case your account is public, however you don’t fancy turning into Instagram well-known, right here’s easy methods to conceal your Tales from strangers on the Discover web page: 

Making your account non-public 

First off, the best means to verify no lurkers watch your story or discover your profile is to change your account to non-public, which means you’ll have to just accept comply with requests.

To do that, choose your profile icon on the bottom-right of the web page, then choose the burger menu on the top-right hand aspect. From right here, faucet Settings > Privateness > Account privateness below the ‘Connections’ class. Lastly, modify the Non-public account toggle to inexperienced. 

However, I don’t desire a non-public Instagram account…

Alternatively, Instagram made it potential so that you can decide out on a per-photo foundation in case your profile seems on the favored location or hashtag story.

In case your story has been featured in a preferred, public shared story, you’ll see a word in your story saying its been featured. To take away your story, go into the view checklist on your story by swiping up. Then, choose the X button on the top-right hand aspect of the web page and faucet Conceal to “not be included within the story.”